Sermons

Derived from the Latin word sermo, meaning discourse, a sermon is an address on a biblical, theological, or moral subject, typically delivered by a member of the clergy in a liturgical setting. At Christ Church, a sermon given within the context of the Holy Eucharist is often referred to as a homily.

Texts from sermons delivered during the 11:15 a.m. Sunday liturgy are available below.

 

The Third Sunday of Pentecost (A)
Sunday, June 21, 2020
The Reverend Crystal J. Carpenter Hardin

 

The Second Sunday of Pentecost (A)
Sunday, June 14, 2020
The Reverend John S. McDuffie

 

The First Sunday after Pentecost: Trinity Sunday (A)
Sunday, June 7, 2020
The Reverend Timothy A.R. Cole

 

The Seventh Sunday of Easter (A)
Sunday, May 24, 2020
The Reverend Crystal J. Carpenter Hardin

 

The Ascension of Our Lord Jesus Christ (A)
Thursday, May 21, 2020
The Reverend Timothy A. R. Cole

 

The Sixth Sunday of Easter (A)
Sunday, May 17, 2020
The Reverend John S. McDuffie

 

The Fifth Sunday of Easter (A)
Sunday, May 10, 2020
The Reverend Crystal J. Carpenter Hardin

 

The Fourth Sunday of Easter (A)
Sunday, May 3, 2020
The Reverend Timothy A. R. Cole

 

The Third Sunday of Easter (A)
Sunday, April 26, 2020
The Reverend John S. McDuffie

 

The Second Sunday of Easter (A)
Sunday, April 19, 2020
The Reverend Crystal J. Carpenter Hardin

 

Easter Sunday (A)
Sunday, April 12, 2020
The Reverend Crystal J. Carpenter Hardin

 

Good Friday (A)
Friday, April 10, 2020
The Reverend John S. McDuffie

 

Palm Sunday (A)
Sunday, April 5, 2020
The Reverend John S. McDuffie

 

The Fifth Sunday of Lent (A)
Sunday, March 29, 2020
The Reverend John S. McDuffie

 

The Second Sunday in Lent (A)
Sunday, March 8, 2020
The Reverend John S. McDuffie

 

The Sixth Sunday after the Epiphany (A)
Sunday, February 16, 2020
Mr. Jonathan M. Pucik, Seminarian

 

The Fifth Sunday after the Epiphany (A)
Sunday, February 9, 2020
The Reverend Crystal J. Carpenter Hardin

 

The Presentation of Our Lord Jesus Christ (A)
Sunday, February 2, 2020
The Reverend Timothy A. R. Cole

 

The Third Sunday after the Epiphany (A)
Sunday, January 26, 2020
The Reverend Timothy A. R. Cole

 

The Second Sunday after the Epiphany (A)
Sunday, January 19, 2020
The Reverend John S. McDuffie

 

The Baptism of Our Lord Jesus Christ (A)
Sunday, January 12, 2020
The Reverend John S. McDuffie

 

The Second Sunday after Christmas Day (A)
Sunday, January 5, 2020
The Reverend Timothy A. R. Cole

 

The First Sunday after Christmas Day (A)
Sunday, December 29, 2019
The Reverend Timothy A. R. Cole, for the Reverend Crystal Hardin

 

The Nativity of Our Lord Jesus Christ: Christmas Day (A)
Wednesday, December 25, 2019
The Reverend John S. McDuffie

 

The Nativity of Our Lord Jesus Christ: Christmas Eve (A)
Tuesday, December 24, 2019
The Reverend Timothy A. R. Cole

 

The Fourth Sunday of Advent (A)
Sunday, December 22, 2019
The Very Reverend Ian S. Markham

 

The Third Sunday of Advent: Gaudete (A)
Sunday, December 15, 2019
The Reverend Timothy A. R. Cole

 

The Second Sunday of Advent (A)
Sunday, December 8, 2019
The Reverend John S. McDuffie

 

The First Sunday of Advent (A)
Sunday, December 1, 2019
The Reverend Crystal J. Carpenter Hardin

 

If you would like to read or listen to an older sermon that is not on this page, please reach out to Jack Fenton.