Sermons

Derived from the Latin word sermo, meaning discourse, a sermon is an address on a biblical, theological, or moral subject, typically delivered by a member of the clergy in a liturgical setting. At Christ Church, a sermon given within the context of the Holy Eucharist is often referred to as a homily.

Texts from sermons delivered during the 11:15 a.m. Sunday liturgy are available below.

 

The Tenth Sunday After Pentecost (B)
Sunday, September 16, 2018
The Reverend Elizabeth Keeler

 

The Sixteenth Sunday after Pentecost (B)
Sunday, September 9, 2018
The Reverend Timothy A.R. Cole

 

The Fifteenth Sunday after Pentecost (B)
Sunday, September 2, 2018
The Reverend Elizabeth Keeler

 

Fourteenth Sunday after Pentecost (B)
Sunday, August 26, 2018
The Reverend Frank Wade

 

The Thirteenth Sunday after Pentecost (B)
Sunday, August 19, 2018
The Reverend Timothy A.R. Cole

 

The Twelfth Sunday after Pentecost (B)
Sunday, August 12, 2018
The Reverend Elizabeth Bonforte Gardner

 

The Eleventh Sunday after Pentecost (B)
Sunday, August 5, 2018
The Reverend Timothy A.R. Cole

 

The Tenth Sunday After Pentecost (B)
Sunday, July 29, 2018
The Reverend Elizabeth Bonforte Gardner

 

The Ninth Sunday after Pentecost (B)
Sunday, July 22, 2018
The Reverend Elizabeth F. Keeler

 

The Eighth Sunday after Pentecost (B)
Sunday, July 15, 2018
The Reverend Elizabeth B. Gardner

 

The Seventh Sunday after Pentecost (B)
Sunday, July 8, 2018
The Reverend Timothy A. R. Cole

 

The Sixth Sunday after Pentecost (B)
Sunday, July 1, 2018
The Reverend Elizabeth F. Keeler

 

The Fifth Sunday after Pentecost (B)
Sunday, June 24, 2018
The Reverend Timothy A. R. Cole

 

The Fourth Sunday after Pentecost (B)
Sunday, June 17, 2018
The Reverend Elizabeth F. Keeler

 

The Third Sunday after Pentecost (B)
Sunday, June 10, 2018
The Reverend Timothy A. R. Cole

 

The Second Sunday after Pentecost (B)
Sunday, June 3, 2018
The Reverend Elizabeth B. Gardner

 

Trinity Sunday (B)
Sunday, May 27, 2018
The Reverend Timothy A. R. Cole

 

The Day of Pentecost: Whitsunday (B)
Sunday, May 20, 2018
The Reverend Jane Ball

 

The Day of Pentecost: Whitsunday (B) - Youth Sermon
Sunday, May 20, 2018
Ms. Rachel Davies-van Voorhis

 

Bicentennial Eucharist (Proper for the Dedication of a Church)
Sunday, May 13, 2018
The Reverend Timothy A. R. Cole

 

The Sixth Sunday of Easter (B)
Sunday, May 6, 2018
The Reverend Elizabeth F. Keeler

 

The Fifth Sunday of Easter (B)
Sunday, April 29, 2018
The Reverend Timothy A. R. Cole

 

The Fourth Sunday of Easter (B)
Sunday, April 22, 2018
The Reverend Elizabeth B. Gardner

 

The Third Sunday of Easter (B)
Sunday, April 15, 2018
The Reverend Timothy A. R. Cole

 

The Sunday of the Resurrection: Easter Day (B)
Sunday, April 1, 2018
The Reverend Timothy A. R. Cole

 

Good Friday (B)
Friday, March 30, 2018
The Reverent Elizabeth F. Keeler

 

Maundy Thursday (B)
Thursday, March 29, 2018
The Reverend Elizabeth B. Gardner

 

The Fifth Sunday in Lent (B)
Sunday, March 18, 2018
The Reverend Timothy A. R. Cole

 

The Fourth Sunday in Lent (B)
Sunday, March 11, 2018
The Reverend Elizabeth B. Gardner

 

The Second Sunday in Lent (B)
Sunday, February 25, 2018
The Reverend Elizabeth F. Keeler

 

The First Sunday in Lent (B)
Sunday, February 18, 2018
The Reverend Deacon Nicholas J. Evancho

 

The Last Sunday after the Epiphany (B)
Sunday, February 11, 2018
The Reverend Elizabeth B. Gardner

 

The Fifth Sunday after the Epiphany (B)
Sunday, February 4, 2018
The Reverend Timothy A. R. Cole

 

The Fourth Sunday after the Epiphany (B)
Sunday, January 28, 2018
The Reverend Elizabeth F. Keeler

 

The Third Sunday after the Epiphany (B)
Sunday, January 21, 2018
The Reverend Timothy A. R. Cole

 

The Second Sunday after the Epiphany (B)
Sunday, January 14, 2018
The Reverend Elizabeth F. Keeler

 

The Baptism of Our Lord Jesus Christ (B)
Sunday, January 7, 2018
The Reverend Timothy A. R. Cole

 

The First Sunday after Christmas Day (B)
Sunday, December 31, 2017
The Reverend Elizabeth B. Gardner

 

The Nativity of Our Lord Jesus Christ: Christmas Eve (B)
Sunday, December 24, 2017
The Reverend Timothy A. R. Cole

 

The Second Sunday of Advent (B)
Sunday, December 10, 2017
The Reverend Timothy A. R. Cole

 

The Twenty-third Sunday after Pentecost: Opening Eucharist of Bicentennial Celebration (A)
Sunday, November 12, 2017
The Very Reverend Ian S. Markham

 

An Act of Remembrance at Veteranstide
Thursday, November 9, 2017
The Reverend Timothy A. R. Cole